Our NC Senators Shut Down ERIC! Thank Them!





From: "Sen. Jim Burgin" <Jim.Burgin@ncleg.gov> Date: September 20, 2022 at 06:36:25 EDT To: Jim Womack <James.K.Womack@gmail.com> Subject: Fwd: ERIC/State Budget From: Brent Woodcox <Brent.Woodcox@ncleg.gov> Sent: Monday, September 19, 2022 2:39 PM

To: Bell, Karen B <karen.bell@ncsbe.gov>

Cc: Sen. Phil Berger <Phil.Berger@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Ralph Hise <Ralph.Hise@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Warren Daniel <Warren.Daniel@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Paul Newton <Paul.Newton@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Bill Rabon <Bill.Rabon@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Kathy Harrington <Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Vickie Sawyer <Vickie.Sawyer@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Chuck Edwards <Chuck.Edwards@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Jim Burgin <Jim.Burgin@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Joyce Krawiec <Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Jim Perry <Jim.Perry@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Michael Lee <Michael.Lee@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Carl Ford <Carl.Ford@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Amy Galey <Amy.Galey@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Ted Alexander <Ted.Alexander@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Deanna Ballard <Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Steve Jarvis <Steve.Jarvis@ncleg.gov>; Sen. David Craven <David.Craven@ncleg.gov>; Sen. Kevin Corbin <Kevin.Corbin@ncleg.gov>

Subject: RE: ERIC/State Budget

Karen Brinson Bell Dobbs Building Third Floor 430 N Salisbury St 6400 Mail Service Center Raleigh NC 27603-1362 September 19, 2022 Dear Ms. Brinson Bell, We are writing today to clarify the intent of the budget provisions related to North Carolina’s participation in the Electronic Registration Information Council, Inc. (ERIC). The bill specifically provides funds for the State's membership in ERIC. In so doing, it directs the NC State Board of Elections (NCBSE) to use HAVA funds in order to conduct “a one-time analysis of the State's voter registration data by the Electronic Registration Information Center, Inc. (ERIC), and a subsequent mailing to affected individuals by the State Board of Elections to improve the accuracy of voter registration records.” Additionally, the bill directs NCSBE as follows: If the State's continued membership in the Electronic Registration Information Center (ERIC) requires the State Board of Elections or a local board of elections to change any of the policies or procedures related to elections in this State, the change in policy or procedure shall not occur unless approved by an act of the General Assembly. Our understanding is that the mailings involved in this process will not go out until sometime in the Spring of 2023 and that this program will have no effect on how the the 2022 general election is conducted. We expect that when this administrative task is undertaken by NCSBE that it will be done in an orderly fashion and conducted in such a way that adheres to all existing state law regarding the security of confidential voter information. It is our further understanding that ERIC does not supply the state with citizenship status in its data exchange. Our expectation is that NCSBE will use data that is available to the state regarding the citizenship status of individuals residing in North Carolina before conducting the first mailing to ensure that any information regarding voter registration opportunities do not create any confusion about a person’s eligibility to vote if that person is not a citizen. We look forward to continuing to work in consultation with NCSBE to ensure that our voter rolls are accurate and that confidential voter information remains secure. Sincerely, Sen. Phil Berger Sen. Ralph Hise Sen. Warren Daniel Sen. Paul Newton Sen. Bill Rabon Sen. Kathy Harrington Sen. Vickie Sawyer Sen. Chuck Edwards Sen. Jim Burgin Sen. Joyce Krawiec Sen. Jim Perry Sen. Michael Lee Sen. Carl Ford Sen. Amy Galey Sen. Ted Alexander Sen. Deanna Ballard Sen. Steve Jarvis Sen. David Craven Sen. Kevin Corbin