What To Look For: Education Indoctrination

Updated: Dec 30, 2021

FirstVoteNC Civics Indoctrination Sources

Kids Voting morphed into FirstVoteNC FirstVoteNC https://www.google.com/search?safe=strict&sxsrf=ALeKk00T1JKYc7EJUWG96R-wvDlWSksFcQ%3A1613999981634&source=hp&ei=ba8zYJyLJJCGwbkPkJWWmAc&iflsig=AINFCbYAAAAAYDO9fb8OEI24weAKRK3F8kXP_cyvrFdc&q=firstvotenc&oq=firstvotenc&gs_lcp=Cgdnd3Mtd2l6EAMyBAgAEA0yCAgAEAgQDRAeOgQIIxAnOggIABCxAxCDAToCCAA6CwguELEDEMcBEKMCOgUIABCxAzoICC4QxwEQowI6CAguELEDEIMBOg4ILhCxAxCDARDHARCjAjoFCAAQyQM6BQgAEJIDOgcIIxCxAhAnOgQIABAKOggILhDHARCvAToKCC4QxwEQowIQCjoKCC4QxwEQrwEQClDlCVj2I2C3RGgAcAB4AIABlwGIAYEHkgEEMTAuMZgBAKABAaoBB2d3cy13aXo&sclient=gws-wiz&ved=0ahUKEwjc9ce8yv3uAhUQQzABHZCKBXMQ4dUDCAk&uact=5 High school teachers: Engage your students in a simulated 2020 election with First Vote NC https://www.ednc.org/high-school-teachers-simulated-2020-election-with-first-vote-nc/ First Vote NC: Helping teach civic engagement in the classroom https://www.ednc.org/first-vote-nc-helping-teach-civic-engagement-in-the-classroom/ Designing a School-wide Election​ ​How to Vote and Why it Matters ​ ​National, State and Local Elections: What’s the Difference? Local ElectionsPolitical Parties and Ideologies ​ ​Role of Media in ElectionsThe Role of Money in Elections ​ ​The Results Are In! 2020 Census SECU Foundation. People Helping People https://www.ncsecufoundation.org/Projects/EdNCFirstVote.html Your Voice. Civics for the Next Generation. (Lessons) https://app.participate.com/communities/first-vote-nc/a4fa69eb-5665-4690-a798-0de908a4575e/feed Institute for Emerging Issues: First Vote NC: Making Civic Engagement a “Habit” for Teens https://iei.ncsu.edu/2018/first-vote-nc-making-civic-engagement-a-habit-for-teens/ 11/11/2016: NC High School Students Vote in Big Numbers in First Vote NC’s Inaugural Statewide Simulation Election https://bladenonline.com/nc-high-school-students-vote-in-big-numbers-in-first-vote-ncs-inaugural-statewide-simulation-election/ First Vote NC June 4 2020 webinar on Vimeo https://vimeo.com/426986244 FirstVote on You Tube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2Jm7j6Db0S9YBjQKCxyPaA?feature=emb_ch_name_ex CUFA College & University Faculty Assembly: Position Statement on Social Studies and the Aftermath of the 2016 Election The Executive Board of the College and University Faculty Assembly of the National Council for the Social Studies https://cufa.socialstudies.org/resourcesmain/new-item “In the wake of a presidential election cycle that featured invective speech toward traditionally marginalized, oppressed, and under-represented citizens, the College and University Faculty Assembly (CUFA) of the National Council for Social Studies—the national organization of social studies education researchers, scholars, and teacher educators--calls on social studies K-12 educators and professors to reaffirm their commitment to an open and inclusive democracy through their instruction, curriculum and advocacy.” Teaching about the Election and Post-Election Resources (Lesson Plans) First Vote NC http://www.firstvotenc.org/lesson-plans/ Generation Nation: 2016 Election Toolkit http://generationnation.org/index.php/learn/entry/election-2016-resources Returning to the Classroom after the Election http://www.crlt.umich.edu/node/93815 Teaching in the Time of Trump (Articles & Reports) Benjamin Justice & Jason Stanley (2016). Teaching in the Time of Trump. Social Education, 88(1), 36-41. Southern Poverty Law Center (2016). The Trump Effect: The Impact of the Presidential Campaign on Our Nation’s Schools. https://www.splcenter.org/20160413/trump-effect-impact-presidential-campaign-our-nations-schools Diana Mutz (2006). The Workplace as a Context for Cross Cutting Political Talk. The Journal of Politics. 68(1), 140-155. Discussing Trump with Children How to Discuss Donald Trump With Your Kids. Chicago Tribune. http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/columnists/ct-keilman-column-hf-0330-20160324-column.html What to Say to Say to Kids on November 10 and Beyond. Teaching Tolerance. http://www.tolerance.org/blog/what-say-kids-november-10-and-days-after What should we tell our children http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/what-should-we-tell-the-children_us_5822aa90e4b0334571e0a30b Web-based Resources Campus Election Engagement Project http://www.campuselect.org/uploads/1/1/6/8/11680869/classroom_conversations_and_the_election.pdf Discussing Controversial Public Issues http://www.lawanddemocracy.org/discussionpi.html Institute for Democracy and Higher Education http://activecitizen.tufts.edu/wp-content/uploads/FacilitatingPoliticalDialoguesWorkshop.pdf Southern Poverty Law Center https://www.splcenter.org/ Southern Poverty Law Center: Hate Map https://www.splcenter.org/hate-map Speak Up for Civility Contract http://www.tolerance.org/tabs/teaching-tolerance--speak-up-for-civility-contract-classroom-edition.pdf Teaching Tolerance.org http://www.tolerance.org/ Trump 2.0 Syllabus. Public Books http://www.publicbooks.org/feature/trump-syllabus-20 Zinn Education Project https://zinnedproject.org/ Educational Policies and the Trump Election Donald Trump and the Future of Education https://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2016/11/donald-trump-on-education/507167/?utm_source=twb Trump Set to Shift Gears on Civil Rights, ESSA, Says a K-12 Transition-Team Leader http://blogs.edweek.org/edweek/campaign-k-12/2016/11/trump_ESSA_civil_rights_transition_education.html?cmp=SOC-SHR-twitter Trump’s School Choice Opportunity http://www.wsj.com/video/opinion-journal-trumps-school-choice-opportunity/8E641FA3-5497-4484-AA90-5C62361661DD.html Additional election resources can be added at: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1HEXhVn60R86-zXA31TBMd89o_hIFjGBlxkiVQrwahN4/edit ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- North Carolina Center for Public Policy Research. Voting and Elections https://nccppr.org/category/voting-elections/ 3/22/19: A look at Re-Districting https://nccppr.org/a-look-at-redistricting-in-north-carolina/ 11/9/18: How Did NC Youth Vote in the 2018 Midterms? https://nccppr.org/how-did-north-carolinas-youth-vote-in-the-2018-midterms/ 11/2/18: Six Constitutional Amendments Explained https://nccppr.org/six-constitutional-amendments-explained/ 11/2/18: Amendments Still a Mystery to Most Voters https://nccppr.org/amendments-on-nc-ballot-still-a-mystery-to-most-voters/ 11/2/18: Constitutional Amendments Explained By the Constitutional Amendments Publication Commission https://nccppr.org/constitutional-amendments-explained-by-the-n-c-constitutional-amendments-publication-commission/ 11/17/17: The Youth Vote: What Do North Carolina’s Young People Think About Local Issues? https://nccppr.org/youth-vote-north-carolinas-young-people-think-local-issues/ 9/29/17: Why Trump Won https://nccppr.org/why-trump-won/ 9/15/17: High School Teachers: First Vote NC Offers Free Curriculum and Local Election Simulation https://nccppr.org/high-school-teachers-first-vote-nc-offers-free-curriculum-local-election-simulation/ 9/18/17: First Vote NC: Getting Young People Engaged in Local Elections https://nccppr.org/first-vote-nc-getting-young-people-engaged-local-elections/ 7/21/17: Multi-winner voting: A New Path? https://nccppr.org/multi-winner-voting-new-path/